Alta Badia - Dolomites ItalySuedtirol



Book now






La Gran Risa

The Gran Risa slope, one of the most beautiful and challenging ski slopes in the alpine ski circuit

Gran Risa © Alta Badia -  freddy planinschek

In 1985, the Gran Risa slope became an official stage of the Alpine Ski World Cup. With an overwhelming victory. Ingemarg Stenmark, at that time the absolute skiing champion, won the race. A grandiose start!

In 1987, a young Alberto Tomba was to triumph. The ‘bomb’ went on to be repeated three more times: in ’90, ’91, ’94, driven by a crowd worthy more of a football stadium than a ski slope.

Hermann Maier missed the victory by 8 hundredths of a second in 1999. ‘Herminator’, one of the greatest specialists of the giant slalom ever went up on the podium of the Grand Risa two more times, but never on the highest step.

In the year 2000, the turn of a new century: this was the only year the race was not held due to the impossible weather conditions.

Italy again: Simoncelli and Blardone won four times: Davide in 2003 and Max in 2005, 2009, 2011.
2009 was the year of a magical dual title for Italy, with Blardone first and Simoncelli second.

The genuine king of the Grand Risa is without a shadow of a doubt the Austrian Marcel Hirscher who dominated six consecutive editions, from 2013 to 2018.

The Norwegian Henrik Kristoffersen and the Frenchman Alexis Pinturault broke the Austrian rule, winning the edition 2019 and 2020.

2021 sees an Italian on the podium again. On the Monday's giant slalom Luca De Aliprandini is second, beaten only by the Swiss champion Odermatt.

Take a good look at the podiums down here. During the treasure hunt, you may be asked for the first three placings of one of the indicated years.

  • 1985
  • 1987
  • 1999
  • 2003
  • 2005
  • 2009
  • 2011
  • 2013
  • 2015
  • 2016
  • 2017
  • 2018
  • 2019
  • 2020
  • 2021-lunedi
shopping_cartSkipass online shop