Alta Badia - Dolomites Italy



Book now






The Dolomites, UNESCO World Heritage

Experience holidays in Alta Badia surrounded by the world's most beautiful architecture

Chapel at the Sas dla Crusc foothills with the magical alpenglow

Roughly 300 to 150 million years ago, all continents formed one super-continent called Pangea.
250 million years ago, the region known today as the Alps was a part of Pangea and located further south, in the earth's tropical zone.
Until the ice age, the mountain range we call the Dolomites today, was born as a giant coral reef in the prehistoric Tethys ocean. As this primordial sea subsided, majestic, bizarre, light rocks which were different than the mountains around them, were released.

Scientists found out at the end of the 18th century, the Dolomites, sometimes referred to as the "pale mountains", consist of magnesium-rich limestone. The Dolomites owe their present name to the geologist Déodat de Dolomieu, who performed the first mineralogical-chemical analysis of the rocks.

  • Pisciadù lake in sight of a mountain hut
    Mountain hut Pisciadù
  • Sunset at Falzarego pass in Alta Badia
    Wonderful sunsets in the Dolomites
  • Sella massive taken from the side of the Garedna pass
    Magic landscape in the Dolomites

UNESCO World Heritage site since 2009

The Dolomite mountains, located in the south of the main chain of the Alps, between Adige and Piave, between Val de Puster valley and the Bellunese region, are geopolitically divided between three Italian provinces: South Tyrol, Trento and Belluno.

On 26th of June 2009, the Dolomites were put on the UNESCO list of the world's protected natural paradises and since then, officially rank among the most beautiful mountains in the world.

The magic of "Enrosadira"


A particularly spectacular phenomenon which can be experienced very well in the Dolomites is the alpenglow or "Enrosadira" in Ladin language. Upon sundown, the Dolomite mountains around Alta Badia are being illuminated in magnificent shades of red, from pink to orange and carmine - the Santa Croce is a peak especially renowned for its blaze of colour.

The nine mountain ranges of the Dolomites which belong to the UNESCO's World Heritage include the natural parks Puez-Odle and Fanes-Senes-Braies which extend into Alta Badia.